

BOROUGH OF RUSHMOOR

To the Mayor and Members of the Council,

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED to attend the Annual Meeting of the Council of the Borough of Rushmoor to be held at the Council Offices, Farnborough on *Tuesday,* 21st May, 2019 at 7.00 pm for the transaction of the business set out on the Agenda given below.

AGENDA

1. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR OF THE BOROUGH

Cr. D.E. Clifford will move and Cr M.J. Tennant will second:

"That Councillor **SUE CARTER** be elected Mayor of the Borough to hold office until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2020."

On her election, the Mayor will be invested with the Insignia of Office, take the Chair and make her Declaration of Acceptance of Office in accordance with Section 83 of the Local Government Act, 1972.

The Mayor will address the Meeting and will signify the appointment of Mr Ian White as Mayor's Consort and Reverend Steve Stewart as the Mayor's Chaplain.

2. **VOTE OF THANKS**

To record the Council's appreciation of the excellent service rendered by Councillor Stephen Masterson as Mayor during the Municipal Year 2018/19. An illuminated scroll shall be presented, together with a Past Mayor's Badge to Councillor Masterson.

3. ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR

Cr. A.H. Crawford will move and Cr. Nadia Martin will second:

"That Councillor **PETER FRANK RUST** be elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough to hold office until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2020."

On his election, Councillor Rust will be invested with the Deputy Mayor's Badge. He will then make his Declaration of Acceptance of Office in accordance with Section 83 of the Local Government Act, 1972.

4. MINUTES

To confirm the Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 11th April 2019 (copy Minutes herewith).

5. **RETURNING OFFICER'S REPORT**

To receive the Returning Officer's Report of the names of the persons elected as Borough Councillors at the Elections held on 2nd May 2019 (copy attached – Annex 1).

6. MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS

7. APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

To consider nominations and appoint the Leader of the Council to hold office until the Annual Meeting in 2020. Cr. D.E. Clifford has been nominated by the Conservative Group.

8. **APPOINTMENTS 2019/20**

(1) To note the appointment of the Deputy Leader and the following councillors as Cabinet Members for the Municipal Year 2019/20, as made by the Leader of the Council:

Cr. K.H. Muschamp - Deputy Leader &

Customer Experience and Improvement

Cr. Marina Munro - Planning and Economy
Cr. M.J. Tennant - Major Projects and Property

Cr. M.L. Sheehan - Operational Services
Cr. P.G. Taylor - Corporate Services

Cr. A.R. Newell - Democracy, Strategy & Partnerships

(2) To consider and approve the Appointments to Committees for the Municipal Year 2019/20 as follows, in accordance with the allocations to achieve political balance indicated:

DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT

Voting Members

Conservative: 8 Labour: 3

Cr. Diane Bedford Cr. A.H. Crawford Cr. R. Cooper Cr. C.P. Grattan Cr. P.I.C. Crerar Cr. P.F. Rust

Cr. P.J. Cullum Cr. J.H. Marsh Cr. M.D. Smith Cr. C.J. Stewart Cr. B.A. Thomas

Standing Deputies:

Conservative: Labour:

Cr. Sophia Choudhary Cr. Gaynor Austin

NOTE: The Cabinet Member with responsibility for planning matters is to be an ex officio non-voting member of the Development Management Committee

LICENSING, AUDIT AND GENERAL PURPOSES

Voting Members

Conservative: 7 Labour: 3 Liberal Democrat: 1

Cr. J.B. Canty Cr. Christine Guinness Cr. A.K. Chowdhury

Cr. Veronica Graham-Green Cr. A.J. Halstead Cr. L. Jeffers Cr. P.F. Rust

Cr. S.J. Masterson Cr. Prabesh KC Cr. Jacqui Vosper Cr. J.E. Woolley

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY

Voting Members

Conservative: 7 Labour: 4

Cr. Diane Bedford Cr. T.D. Bridgeman

Cr. M.S. Choudhary Cr. K. Dibble

Cr. Veronica Graham-Green Cr. Christine Guinness

Cr. L. Jeffers Cr. Nadia Martin

Cr. Mara Makunura Cr. S.J. Masterson Cr. M.D. Smith

POLICY AND PROJECT ADVISORY BOARD

Voting Members

Conservative: 7 Labour: 3 Liberal Democrat: 1

Cr. J.B. Canty Cr. Gaynor Austin Cr. A.S. Dekker

Cr. Sophia Choudhary Cr. Sophie Porter Cr. P.I.C. Crerar Cr. M.J. Roberts

Cr. P.J. Cullum Cr. Prabesh KC Cr. C.J. Stewart Cr. J.E. Woolley

(3) To consider the nominations and appoint the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Committees (the Conservative Group nominations are set out below):

Development Management

Nominated Chairman - Cr. B.A. Thomas Nominated Vice-Chairman - Cr. J.H. Marsh

Licensing and General Purposes

Nominated Chairman Cr. J.E. Woolley
Nominated Vice-Chairman - Cr. S.J. Masterson

(4) To consider and approve the Appointments to the Management Boards for the Council Trusts for the Municipal Year 2019/20 as follows, and to authorise each Management Board to make decisions on behalf of the Council by majority vote:

The Aldershot Recreation Ground Trust

Cr. Mrs D.B. Bedford Cr. K. Dibble Cr. M.S. Choudhary

Standing Deputy: Cr. T.D. Bridgeman

King George's Field, Farnborough Trust

Cr. C.J. Stewart Cr. A.J. Halstead Cr. P.J. Taylor

Standing Deputies: Cr. C.P. Grattan Cr. Mara Makunura

The Alfred Henry Goode Will Trust

Cr. D.E. Clifford Cr. A.H. Crawford Cr. K.H. Muschamp

Standing Deputy: Cr. Nadia Martin

A.E. COLVER Head of Democracy, Strategy and Partnerships

Council Offices Farnborough Hampshire GU14 7JU